My Passion for Food… A love story

Yes.. I’m in love! Deep, untamed, uninhibited love that runs deep in my veins – and stomach for that matter.

I love everything about Food: the fragrant, irresistible smell; the amazing, original colors and  the rich, overwhelming tastes.

My love for food is not only about eating .. I enjoy cooking -a lot. I love to innovate but mostly I try to learn all the secrets and tricks from a most amazing teacher, Nana (my mom).
I have a theory about food, a theory that all my family shares: “the most important ingredient for any food is love”. This is probably why I do not enjoy food in restaurants. It is impersonal- cold.

I know my passion for food is so obvious, it sometimes embarrasses me. This is why- again- I hate eating in public. I feel like everyone is watching me and I cannot be comforted by Food.

Food is always tempting, always! No time limit, no place, nothing can stand in the way of tasting and getting my fill of my favorite food.

Food is always benevolent: no matter  what mood I’m in, no matter how upset, happy, depressed or enthusiastic, I can always count on food to cheer me up or celebrate with me..

Food is always missed: when the time comes, nothing can replace it or sooth the craving…

I know most people consider Food as secondary to happiness- not me! I think being happy is getting your fill of favorite food in the company of your favorite people. Nothing can beat that, NOTHING!

These days, we hear about the famine happening in Somalia and I believe no one feels their ordeal more than I do!I grieve for them all the time, mention them in every prayer and try to help as much as I can. They know, better than anyone, the importance of food.

I guess it can never be compared to Somalians, but you can better understand how Ramadan is a difficult month for me. long hours of deprivation and longing… Exhausting!! Yet, the promised Heaven is a great motive 🙂

Food is a blessing.. I’m sure and I will always be grateful for it. Alhamdoulillah.

About Farah

- Heavy reader (literally). - Scientist in process. - Veiled Muslim (alhamdoulillah).

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. hahahahaha 🙂 jawwa3tina sitt farah!

  2. This is so you‏ ‎:)‎‏ ضحكتيني بعز البكي ‏‎:p‎

  3. loving this .. i get hungry bas mnl 2rayeh!!!! owafikouki lra2i bi kelllllll chiii.. food makes me cry.. 5susi nana’s.. :S 😥 wa3333

  1. Pingback: What Gets Your Mental Juices Going? | twosisterscateringjourney

  2. Pingback: The Coca Cola Campaign and ‘Happy Calories’. |

Leave a Reply

