The Teacher’s Diary: How I Decided Teaching is my Calling…

There is nothing special about this post.. It’s just something I was thinking about a lot lately and only just recently found an answer.

I will not lie and say that I always wanted to become a teacher because although I did respect mine, I knew even back then it wasn’t easy to be a good teacher.

I will not even lie about having a lot of other options because I didn’t.

But last night while fighting the huge depression resulting from superhuman work effort, it occurred to me to think about other career options: could I have chosen differently to become happier than I am right now?

The minute this thought crossed my mind, I felt a smile force itself onto my face.. What’s the point? I’m now a teacher, and I might as well live with it.

During my teenage years, I was  the rebellion who wasn’t convinced easily, who always objected (sometimes merely for the joy of it).. your typical teenager if you will, except my rebellion was not illiterate : I was highly self-educated due to very long hours in the company of books.. needless to say, I had a few friends.

When I graduated, Biology was my choice: among the rare people I admired was a wonderful teacher who made the discovery of life an adventure, Mme Samar Karami. You see, when you choose your major right after graduation, you tend to choose something you like as a direct opposition to being forced to study everything at school. You don’t care about the future just then, you just think you should choose the subject you like most.

University was a different world for me where, just like anyone else, I learned a few lessons. The most important one was to believe in myself even when no one else does.

Then, I started to teach. It was the natural step for me and it was predictable and logical. That does not mean I liked it!

The first year was difficult: I was young, green and foolish. That’s when I decided that since teaching would become my destiny, I should know more about it. I enrolled in a major that was useful in terms of teaching how to teach and useless in terms of salary.

But I think that was the year I changed my mind. I started to enjoy teaching. I started to love the moment when I entered a class (at least some of them). I began looking forward to the discussion of such and such topics knowing it would be beneficial for my students, reveling in the notion I had touched a life someway.

Years later, now a full time teacher in a great school, I find it difficult to picture my life elsewhere. I know I’m honest when I say I love the part I play in people’s life. The builder, so devoted, so selfless, so caring.. I know it seems surreal, but it’s true.

It seems to me the greatest reward a teacher can ever have was recognition and loyalty. I now know how our teachers used to feel when we rushed to greet them on the roads or in markets. It’s gratifying and rewarding to feel you are appreciated even in this smallest measure.

I know the teacher is often the invisible foundation stone to building the personality of his students, and I also know no one will remember that, not even the teacher himself! But I have a few doubts left as to whether I should be a teacher or not.. I already am, might as well embrace it!

About Farah

- Heavy reader (literally). - Scientist in process. - Veiled Muslim (alhamdoulillah).

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m in love with your positivism fighi7, I believe teaching chose you because it knew what an asset you are…

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts

  4. Thank you 🙂

  5. Love your blog! Going to school right now to be a teacher and looking for info for my portfolio. Get positivity and love/hate relationship for the profession. Very refreshing and real. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

