Senselessness..

Life’s smallest things always impressed me: a butterfly with bright colors, a sky with lovely clouds, a flower with a sweet fragrance, a song with moving words..

I love looking at the blue sky, watching the clouds moving, amazed by their different shapes and sizes…

I enjoy walking by the sea and observing  its constant, embracing waves.. Their deep color, sparkling in the sun, whispering with the wind…

I savor each bite of my food, relishing the heavenly mix of tastes, colors and fragrances.

I can even identify smells, marveling at the sweet scent of a simple jasmine, the earthly aroma of soil after the first rain and the overwhelming orange flowers odor that fills the air every spring..

This is why I have a problem dealing with our world today.. To survive, you must become senseless!

Everything is faceless, tasteless.. Everything is meaningless!

I was recently with my students on the bus for a trip into a lovely place where rustic was the main idea.On the road, I was admiring the view of the sea, the colors, the brightness, the scene. Occasionally, I would exclaim: “wow! look at this!” and the ones who actually did (few ones even bothered) would give me the “seriously” look: What was so important?

I would only sigh: they lost their sense of sight! they just look but don’t see, they would only be moved by the glamor they watch everyday on TV, or online..

The thing is,  “Normal”  is not “hip” anymore.. If exaggeration didn’t overwhelm the content, it passes unnoticed, classified: unimportant.

I wonder if this generation can notice the different hues of the blue sky or if they recognize a soothing breeze, a sweet fragrance, or even a kind smile…

When nothing is good enough, not bright enough, not warm enough, not colorful enough, not sweet enough.. Would happiness ever exist??  Isn’t happiness a direct result of contentment and satisfaction??

About Farah

- Heavy reader (literally). - Scientist in process. - Veiled Muslim (alhamdoulillah).

Posted on August 4, 2012, in Philosophical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you could have right here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

  2. I came across your site on google and check out a few of your early articles. Continue with the very good articles. Ill likely be by again to read more, thanks!

Leave a Reply

