Don’t worry my Tripoli.. We still love you!

It has been a long time since I thought about my feelings for the troublesome city I live in..

Today, I decided I still love my Tripoli.

Passing through its streets, I felt how lucky I was to be part of its insignificant background..

My Tripoli, the city of ancient history, where you could walk into to a mosque that was built thousands of years ago, or down the streets into markets that served sultans…

My Tripoli, the city of  amazing familiarity, where you could easily identify faces, where everyone knows everyone or is related to someone who knows them..

My Tripoli, the city of simple joys, where the special taste of a kaakeh is addictive ,where you know which store sells the best sweets and which offers the cheapest, yummiest Felafel..

My Tripoli, the city of sparkling beauty, where the tempting sea lazily hugs the length of its shores, and is always a few minutes away..

My Tripoli, the city i was raised to love, the city i lived every sweet moment of my childhood in, the city where I met my best friends and where i know every corner, every building, every cafe.. well almost 🙂

I still love you my Tripoli.. All the efforts to make me forget what you mean will not work.. I know better..

I know that whatever happens, a few black clouds could not hide your glorious rays for long..

I know that whoever is trying  to turn you into a war zone would only succeed if we let him..

I will always love you my Tripoli..  I promise!

My Tripoli

 

About Farah

- Heavy reader (literally). - Scientist in process. - Veiled Muslim (alhamdoulillah).

Posted on October 6, 2013, in Personal, Traditions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are a genuine person with a heart of pure gold. Thank you for reminding us of our glorious tripoli

Leave a Reply

