Morning-Mania

You might have heard of the morning sickness, but this has nothing to do with that. In fact, this type of behavior is something quite specialized to my family. It is actually the emergency-like state that comes every morning.Even thought it’s usually my sister Mimi that does this kind of behavior, I don’t blame her completely. My father and mother practiced it so many times when we were young (and still do) that I think it became a part of her personality.
Needless to say, I always am reluctant to leave my bed every morning to go to school.. that’s normal and I think no one would feel differently.
but on top of that, there is this neurotic behavior that I have to endure from my sister each morning that gets on my nerves:
It starts with hurrying me up “yalla t2ekharna” every time she bumps into me during the morning.
Next, comes the angry attitude I get if or when I forget something I need to get, the “puff” she makes can move mountains!
Then, at the door ,which she always reaches first, I get the “look” that can freeze you to the ground (if not immunized like me).
The final stage comes after reaching school when we always, ALWAYS, arrive late no matter what the time is! “Shefti? t2ekharna”.

I must add that I DON’T have to be there that early and sometimes I even have free periods in the morning!

But that’s not the end of it I’m afraid, because if you think about it there’s nothing wrong with wanting to be on time and pushing people to do so (never mind the way). the problem is that this behavior is imprinted in her so deeply that it happens no matter the time or the place we wanted to go: afternoon walk or evening visit,even a trip to the market! I mean, who has to be “on time” for a walk!!!

What I enjoy watching every time is when my dad or mum and my sister have the same “condition” at the same time. Trust me, a million dollar scene happens where the stares, the comments and the angry gestures clash in a giant loss of temper.

When in vacation such as this one, I enjoy waking up in the morning because there is no rush to prevent an angry comment or a raging stare.
If you have witnessed this kind of behavior, you have my sympathy. If not, consider yourself lucky!

About Farah

- Heavy reader (literally). - Scientist in process. - Veiled Muslim (alhamdoulillah).

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Family, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Seriously, we’re NEVER LATE????!! :O

  2. Says who? We are late SOMETIMES and that’s a keyword!!

Leave a comment